Bluepoint is a non-profit Open Source education and development center. It is the first organization in the Philippines to focus on Linux and Open Source training.
I took up Bluepoint's Total Linux course last 2002 and time and again, what I've learned are still relevant today. Why? The course was developed with security and performance in mind.

In less than two months, I was able to learn the best practices in setting up Linux as a server: installing Linux at a bare minimum; removing standard and unnecessary programs, files and folders; protecting critical files and folders; compiling server software and the Linux kernel from scratch with optimized settings and necessary features only; installing servers in a jailed environment; designing and implementing a paranoid firewall.

Aside from the hands on lecture, we also had the toughest practical and written exams.

This quality training helped me obtain a score of 100% in my RHCE exam last March 2005. The first person I thanked was of course, my instructor, Engels Antonio of Bluepoint Institute.

- Chivas Sicam
Senior Science Research Specialist
CodeFest 2009
Monday, Aug 10, 2009, 12:00 AM (Revision 131 - Thursday, Jul 14, 2011, 7:43 PM)
Bluepoint Linux Users Elite (BLUE) in cooperation with the Ateneo de Manila University Department of Information Systems and Computer Science (DISCS) and Bluepoint Foundation will hold CodeFest 2009 on September 12, 2009 at the Faura Building, Ateneo de Manila University, Katipunan Avenue, Loyola Heights, Quezon City.

CodeFest 2009 is open to all senior high school students and college undergraduates who are proficient in any of the following programming languages:

c c++ java perl php python

Interested parties must submit an endorsement letter from their respective schools and register at Bluepoint Foundation or Ateneo DISCS before September 8, 2009. Registration fee is 100 pesos per contestant. Only 20 players will be accommodated, maximum of 5 contestants per school.

AteneoRoosevelt CollegeSTI CubaoSTI MarikinaTIP Manila
Nelvin Driz
Alvin Dumalus
Marlou Ramas
Fernando Vitug

Hubert Ursua
Rexon Chumacera
Jayson Zanarias

Sheryl Villaroman
Francis Pineda
Ronnel Talento
Billy Ray Teves
Sandino Umengan
Camillo Villagonzalo

Cheryl Buatin
Meynard Collado
Galileo Lajara
Golu Pabla
Chippy San Jose

Arthur Lasaca
Justine Afable
Edwin Bondoc
Ryan Calonzo
James Licong
Sergio Paglinawan

Jerico Flor

Contest duration is 1.5 hours. Players must try to solve a series of problems within the given time. Code is evaluated using the PC^2 software that follows the ACM rules for scoring. It ranks players according to the number of programming problems solved correctly. The player who solves most or all problems properly and with the least time penalties will be the declared as champion. In case of a tie, the player who has the lesser amount of time penalties wins. More about PC^2 usage will be discussed before the contest begins.

CodeFest 2009 will be held at Ateneo de Manila University (Faura Hall) from 1PM to 3PM on September 12, 2009.

Prizes and certificates will be awarded during the Software Freedom Day celebration at the National Computer Center (AVR) on September 19, 2009.

Related Links
Software Freedom Day 2009
Software Freedom Day 2008
CodeFest 2008